Counselor's Corner
Alison Cole, Student Success Coordinator

Counselor's Corner

Welcome to the Counselor's Corner!  Here you will find information about: ACT Registration, graduation requirements, financial aid, scholarships, and college searches. 

Please check often for updates and contact me at school if you have questions about the content on this page! 



Thunder Ridge High School Graduation Requirements

Qualified Admissions for Kansas Residents

State Scholars Curriculum


2019-2020 ACT DATES
Test Date Registration Deadline (Late Fee Required)
February 8, 2020 January 10, 2020 January 17, 2020
April 4, 2020 February 28, 2020 March 13, 2020
June 13, 2020 May 8, 2020 May 22, 2020
July 18, 2020* June 19, 2020 June 26, 2020

Choose the ACT-No Writing Test!

Cost :  $50.50 (fee waivers are available for students who qualify - see counselor for details)

Thunder Ridge School Code:         171-580

To register, go to or see Ms. Cole. There are fee waivers available for students who qualify.

ACT Prep Class: @Osborne, January 8th 8:15-12:30
Please ask if needing extra ACT Prep help.




Senior Scholarship Information:

All scholarship information that comes to me will be posted on this web-site.  If there is a flyer, those are posted on the bulletin board in the senior hallway.


Most are for high school seniors but some may be for college students. Some eligibility is based on where you live, some are based on what county the school you attend is located in. 


TO FILL OUT LOCAL SCHOLARSHIPS, CLICK ON SCHOLARSHIP NAME, TYPE DIRECTLY INTO ADOBE AND PRINT.  Adobe Reader required. Download for free from OR see Ms. Cole for the scholarship application. If possible, these forms are designed for you to open and then type in.  If you have trouble using the fill-in for scholarships, open in the Adobe. Many have a fill-in feature.

Please check back frequently for additions and updates!


*Seniors wanting to participate in  the Hansen Scholarship Test in September must a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.5 and have taken the ACT before September and scored at least a 21 to participate.

Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarships - MANY SCHOLARSHIPS AVAILABLE HERE!!

Kensington/Thunder Ridge Alumni Association Scholarship - Eligibility: any Thunder Ridge senior attending post-secondary education in the fall of 2020. Must attend the alumni banquet on May 25,2020, in order to be eligible to win. Sign up to attend the banquet through Mrs. Boden by Friday, May 8th.

Better Business Bureau Contest and Scholarship

Nex-Tech - Nex-Generation Round-Up for Youth Scholarship Opportunities

Lang Diesel Scholarship

KACRAO Scholarship

Kansas Contractors Association

National Technical Honor Society Scholarship - NTHS has awarded over $2,000,000 in scholarships to date and will award over $296,000 scholarships to high-achieving CTE students in 2019. Established in 1984, NTHS membership is America's highest award for excellence in career and technical education, and a positive image builder for CTE students and programs. Over 4,500 career/technical schools and colleges are affiliated with the Society. For more information, call NTHS toll free @ 800.801.7090 or visit Deadlines vary.

​Horatio Alger National Career & Technical Scholarship Program - Receive up to $2,500 to pursue a career or technical education certificate/degree (510 awards up to $2,500 each). Criteria: Have completed high school or plan to complete high school by Spring 2020 with plans to enroll at a non-profit post-secondary institution by fall 2020. Exhibit a strong commitment to pursue and complete a career or technical program at an accredited non-profit post-secondary institution in the U.S.; Demonstrated critical financial need (must be eligible to receive the Federal Pell grant as determined by completion of the FAFSA); Demonstrated perseverance in overcoming adversity; Be involved in community service activities; Be younger than 30 years old; Be a U.S. citizen. The application will be open with a rolling deadline until all awards have been given out. Applications will be reviewed monthly. For more information or to apply, go to

Kansas Board of Regents Scholarships: You will find these scholarships in Ms. Cole's office!! OR find them online at:
Kansas State Scholarships
Kansas Ethnic Minority Scholarship
Kansas Nursing Service Scholarship
Kansas Teacher Service Scholarship
Kansas Career Technical Workforce Grant
Kansas Military Service Scholarship
Kansas National Guard Educational Assistance

Kansas American Legion Scholarships - this is a variety of legion scholarships available for Kansas students. These are not our local legion scholarships. To access, please go to and click on the "Scholarships" icon then select which scholarship(s) you wish to view and print off the application. Deadlines vary per scholarship. 

Bill and Julia Thomas Charitable Trust Scholarship
Orville L. and Beverly Borgman Scholarship
Thunder Ridge Educational Association Scholarship
Fred Marran Post #166 Legion Scholarship
Fred Marran Post #166 Sons of the American Legion Scholarship
Fred Marran Post #166 American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship
Fred Marran #166 Amercain Legion Auxiliary Vada Bonnett Scholarship

Agra American Legion and Auxiliary Post #357 Scholarship
USD 110 Vada Bonnett Scholarship
Theodore and Ruth Levin Charitable Trust Scholarship
Pro-Ag Scholarship
Vada Bonnett Music Scholarship
Phillips County PEO Scholarship
Phillips County Farm Bureau Scholarship
Phillips County KLA
L. Kent Culbertson Memorial Scholarship
Phillips County Hospital Auxiliary Health Care Scholarship
Carrol & Darlene Booz Charitable Trust Scholarship
Strothers Insurance Scholarship
Farmers National Bank Scholarship
Miller Memorial Scholarship
Harry B. Sweet Scholarship
Kilmer-Miller Scholarship
Carl and Martha Grauerholz Memorial Scholarship
Arnold "Tarzan" Levin Memorial Scholarship
D.C. Duer Scholarship
Edward G. Beckman Scholarship Trust
Rathert Foundation Scholarship Fund
Martin F. Calkin Scholarship
Margaret Nelson Castle College Scholarship Trust
Margaret Nelson Castle Vocational-Technical Scholarship Trust 
Cleon Dettmer Charitable Trust Scholarship


FAFSA Online     

Priority Deadline for Kansas - Received by April 1. Some schools may have an earlier priority deadline!

Education Quest - Located in Kearney. Will help families fill out FASFA for FREE!! 
Do not pay ANY company to help with filling out FASFA. Be careful of scams!

For more information on scholarship scams:

Try these Free Sources of Information:


Cloud County Transcript Request Link - Please ask for a paper form if needed!


Additional Scholarship Searches!!!!!

Federal Student Aid


Broke Scholar


Scholarship Hunter






Other Helpful Information


College Answer                  

The College Board                        

My College Guide               

U.S. Department of Education